Press "Enter" to skip to content

No plan to legalize selling marijuana in Virginia

In less than three months, small amounts of marijuana will be legal in the Commonwealth, however, there’s still no game plan in place for a way to purchase it legally. Possession of marijuana up to an ounce for people 21 and older will no longer be a felony come July 1.

There’s no legal place for residents of Virginia to buy it.

Before this law was signed, possession of marijuana was punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Now, if an adult is caught with more than an ounce, they will face a $25 fine.

Once dispensaries are legalized and the buying and selling of marijuana are regulated, the tax dollars collected will go towards schools across the commonwealth.